Home Home Home



        49th Biel International Chess Festival: 23.07. - 03.08.2016

The 49th International Chess Festival Biel must unfortunately be postponed by a week. It will now take place from Saturday, July 23 until Wednesday, August 3 2016. The dates planned previously overlap with the Tour de France passing through Bern, thus occupying most of the hotels in the region for several days. The exact schedule and further information are now published on this website. The Master Open (MTO) will be played over 9 rounds this year.

How to register?

You are kindly encouraged to subscribe online for the tournaments (Master Tournament, Main Tournament, Rapid, Blitz etc.).

Click here to continue

Registered Players


Please find here all the regulations of the open tournaments (Regulations). 

Master Tournament

Provisional list of most titled players on June 20th, 2016. About 100 participants are expected, among which 25 GM and 15 IM.

1.GMNikita VitiugovRUS2728Elo
2.GMMaxim RodshteinISR2687
3.GMIvan SaricCRO2660
4.GMGeorg MeierGER2657
5.GMS.P. SethuramanIND2653
6.GMRomain EdouardFRA2648
7.GMSamuel ShanklandUSA2646
8.GMAxel BachmannPAR2642
9.GMMateusz BartelPOL2640
10.GMKrishnan SasikiranIND2639
11.GMCsaba BaloghHUN2635
12.GMAleksandr ShimanovRUS2631
13.GMIldar KhairullinRUS2629
14.GMVladimir BaklanUKR2614
15.GMRinat JumabayevKAZ2613
16.GMAnte BrkicCRO2577
17.GMAlexander KovchanUKR2576
18.GMAlexander DonchenkoGER2573
19.GMYannick GozzoliFRA2571
20.GMMartin KrämerGER2563
21.GMDanyyil DvirnyITA2560
22.GMTal BaronISR2557
23.GMChithambaram AravindhIND2536
24.GMAdam HorvathHUN2515
25.GMNarayanan SunilduthIND2515

FIDE-Rating (June 2016)

The full list of registered players



© Biel International Chess Festival